While all states across the country take drinking and driving extremely seriously, some states penalize motorists more for committing the act more than others. North Carolina is one such state, and even first-time DWI offenders can expect to have to pay steep fines and spend at least some amount of time behind bars in addition to other penalties they will face. Not all consequences associated with DWIs come straight from the state’s criminal justice system, however, and some that come from elsewhere can still cost you a considerable amount of money.
According to Insure.com, you can expect to have to finance additional DWI-related expenses even after you regain the privilege to drive, and one such expense involves auto insurance. North Carolina motorists who have DWIs on their records see some of the nation’s highest automotive insurance rate hikes after they receive their convictions. Coming up with extra money to cover insurance after already paying other DWI-related fines and fees can prove immensely difficult.
Just how much of an automotive insurance rate increase should you expect after a North Carolina DWI? The typical state driver who has one DWI on his or her record can plan on watching his or her insurance rates spike an astounding 371%. Just what does this look like, in dollars and cents?
If your driving record was pretty typical before your DWI conviction, you probably shelled out roughly $1,170 annually for insurance. Once you have that DWI conviction, though, you can plan to spend about $5,508 a year for auto insurance in North Carolina, which is a $4,338 increase.
This information about insurance rate hikes after a DWI is meant for educational purposes and is not a substitute or replacement for legal advice.